To Go Pro or not to Go Pro...

SassMaster

We are booked for the Oasis next month and I've been thinking about buying a Go Pro.  I would like to be able to take it on our excursions and around the ship to take videos and pictures so I don't have to worry about ruining my phone with the water.  Even though both my husband and I work in the IT field....we are not "photo/video editing, techy" people.  LOL Something that would be easy enough to learn but have quality images and a good battery.  I've looked online and there are just so many!    I have seen prices between $17 to $500.   Don't want to spend too much money on something that is just for fun and a few times a year. 

What are your experiences? What are some key elements I should notice?

I always take my GoPro with me as I think the quality of the videos are very high and the photos can be very good too.

In saying that there are some downsides. First would be the low light. GoPro, much like many camera phones do not perform well in low light. Secondly is the microphone, the microphone on most GoPros I've had (I can't speak of the Hero 8 as I don't own one) are fair to poor. They pick up wind and when the camera is in its housing and connected to something like a grip it picks up every vibration. So when you move your grip on the pole that is picked up by the mic

The sound issues can we mitigated by buying a 3rd party housing and mic but GoPro made that difficult in the last iterations of the camera by blocking external mics and creating a "solution" which was a $50 adaptor to allow them to work again

With all that though I have worked these roadblocks by purchasing some good mounts and the like, I am completely indoctrinated in to GoPros eco system and would not be without mine