Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
DocLC

Awesome Upgrade from Royal (but I can't take it)

Recommended Posts

Thanks Steve and Jerel, I know everything will be fine and this likely wouldn't be a problem if I wasn't an uber planner and picked the specific cabin that I wanted. Had Royal just contacted us before the move, then it could have been resolved without such an issue.

 

Drive by the terminal today on the way to the Space Center. Super excited and bags are tagged. My son even said today how much he wished we could be on the Liberty today.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We arrived at the port today which was uneventful since we avoided the traffic and parked across the street. Check in was relatively fast; unfortunately, we were informed at check-in that we owed $222 for our upgrade/downgrade fiasco. Guest Services is "investigating" after a half hour with them, but not a great start.

 

On the upside, the ship is beautiful, the food so far is good, and the fam is amazed at the Royal Promenade.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

... unfortunately, we were informed at check-in that we owed $222 for our upgrade/downgrade fiasco. Guest Services is "investigating" after a half hour with them, but not a great start.

On the upside, the ship is beautiful, the food so far is good, and the fam is amazed at the Royal Promenade.

Wow! (And not the "Wow" that Royal Caribbean promises). Total failure on their part. I'm glad you are looking on the upside because you still get to spend the next week on Liberty of the Seas!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wow! (And not the "Wow" that Royal Caribbean promises). Total failure on their part. I'm glad you are looking on the upside because you still get to spend the next week on Liberty of the Seas!

Thanks, Steve. I know we'll have a great, but there's a part of me that just wishes we had cancelled given the frustration this has caused. Fortunately, I have faith in Royal and my TA to resolve this. It's just unfortunate that showing an invoice from Royal showing a zero balance wasn't enough so now I have to wait for this to be resolved.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Doc,  As a newbie 'hopefully' soon to be loyal RCCL customer, please keep us posted as to the resolution.  We, Cindy and I,  leave this Thursday out of Tampa, and are surprised to see how you've been treated thus far.   Have fun, Stay Safe, and ENJOY time with family and friends.

Rob-o

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Doc, how did you find out that you had a balance due ? Did they inform you at check-in ? I find that very strange as you would have had to pay your balance LONG before getting to the pier. They should have realized it was, at a minimum, an "unusual" situation...in fact, one entirely of THEIR doing ! So odd...you are the one that should be getting the $222, not them. I'm sure this will all be resolved but it just multiplied your already frustrating disappointment with the whole "room" thing.

 

I still say you should drop Matts name on 'em !

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Doc, how did you find out that you had a balance due ? Did they inform you at check-in ? I find that very strange as you would have had to pay your balance LONG before getting to the pier. They should have realized it was, at a minimum, an "unusual" situation...in fact, one entirely of THEIR doing ! So odd...you are the one that should be getting the $222, not them. I'm sure this will all be resolved but it just multiplied your already frustrating disappointment with the whole "room" thing.

 

I still say you should drop Matts name on 'em !

 

 

Before we were allowed to board, we were told that there was a message from the Port Agent and we were escorted down by the clerk to see her. I was expecting news of a cabin change, but instead I was told we had a balance due and in order to be allowed to board we had to sign a receipt acknowledging the amount owed and agreeing to pay it. We were further informed that it could only be resolved onboard, so we went to guest services, provided our Royal invoice showing the cruise was paid in full and thought the issue was redolved. The next day, we received a notice that the amount was in fact owed.

 

Back to Guest Services and neither a new person we spoke to nor the senior Guest Services officer could explain it and said that if the couldn't explain it then nothing should be owed. Finally on the third day it was confirmed that the amount owed was an error and the charge was removed from the folio.

 

We also did not receive our C&A robes, our Emerald C&A pin, nor notice of the Meet N Mingle, which the Loyalty Ambassador is checking into. We also due a credit for the arcade which hasn't been applied to our account despite numerous phone calls to Guest Services.

 

Note that these are one-off incidences. The vast majority of people will not experience these issues and for the most part service has been very good especially in the MDR. In addition, Liberty is a great ship with some very good entertainment. However, if I didn't know better, I could see how someone might think otherwise especially if this was his or her first cruise.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Doc, As a newbie 'hopefully' soon to be loyal RCCL customer, please keep us posted as to the resolution. We, Cindy and I, leave this Thursday out of Tampa, and are surprised to see how you've been treated thus far. Have fun, Stay Safe, and ENJOY time with family and friends.

Rob-o

You have nothing to worry about. This is an unusual circumstance because of the upcoming dry dock. I'm sure your cruise will go off without a hitch. Fortunately, this is not my first cruise with Royal, so I know this is not the norm nor will it likely be an issue for anyone else.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hmmmm....I had a psychologist tell me once that everyone has a bag (thrown over your shoulder, I envisioned) in which resentments are collected and stored...and that sometimes these bags will eventually get full.  When the bag is full, there is nothing to do but toss it away along with source of the resentments.

 

Everyone's bag is a different size.  Let's hope your bag for RCI resentments is large enough to handle the MANY small collections you have made this week.  This is the kind of thing (particularly in the iterative way you seem to have collected them for this cruise) that can really spoil a good relationship.  You don't strike me as the resentful type but it certainly cannot be a good thing for your relationship with RCI.

 

Here's hoping that these are all in the past and that the rest of your cruise is resentment-free.

 

:)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks, WaaayTooo. In isolation, each is only a small annoyance, but you are correct that there can be an additive effect.

 

If this was our first cruise, we might be looking elsewhere as a result. As a whole, though, it's been a great cruise with some fun excursions. Heck, I'm sitting on the beach in Cozumel as I write this; how bad can it be? I would like the two hours back that Royal cut from our time in Cozumel that we were only notified about last night, but at least we have until 3:15.

 

The family is in love with the Freedom class and the entertainment has been very good and we're still going on our Serenade and Allure cruises this coming year. However, we also realize we are more itinerary than ship people.

 

Royal does need to reign in their onboard pricing, however. $6 for a grande frappe is ridiculous especially given the quality and price compared to Starbucks. $2 for air hockey is also a bit high, yet we found the prices at Ben and Jerry's to be reasonable.

 

P.S., Given that we know what Royal is capable of, it's easy for me to be a harsh critic. It's really just some disappointment, not resentment, as I know from experience that Royal is better than this. The good news is that I haven't overheard any complaints onboard, so I think these are one-off events.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

P.S., Given that we know what Royal is capable of, it's easy for me to be a harsh critic. It's really just some disappointment, not resentment, as I know from experience that Royal is better than this. The good news is that I haven't overheard any complaints onboard, so I think these are one-off events.

 

For the money paid for the cruise, you are far more tolerant than I...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So they cut your stay in Cozumel by 2 hours ? Any reason ?

No reason was given and I don't think they see it as a significant change since we arrived an hour early. Of course, what are you going to do in Cozumel at 6 am? In the end, we left closer to 5 as a tour was late getting back because of the ferry. We arrived in Galveston on time, so why that wanted to leave earlier is beyond me. Best guess would be to outrun a cold front that we were suppose to pass and/or to get back to Galveston early to load supplies for the dry dock so that they can begin work while in transit.

 

On the upside, the Loyalty Ambassador comped us dinner at Chops for our troubles. She also assured me that there were no coming changes to the C&A program in the coming year despite the rumors circulating online.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For the money paid for the cruise, you are far more tolerant than I...

Fortunately, I did get a good fare for booking early and Royal did extend some onboard credit for the room snafu. However, this is the first Royal cruise where my wife and I started comparing Royal to its competitors and considering alternatives, which is sad.

 

Overall, it was a good cruise and most importantly my son didn't want to leave, which means he had a good time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm telling you, brother. I keep trying to get my wife to try someone else. She's more loyal to Royal than I am. I believe that sometimes you can't know what you've got until you're experience the alternatives. Which is also why I want her to let me have many side girlfriends, but that's not working either. ;) :lol:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm glad to hear the Loyalty Ambassador comped you at Chops. That's a nice gesture.

 

My wife and I were talking today and agreed that based on your exprience we would try not to take the last couple of sailings before a refurbishment. Of course a good deal on the price might change our minds but at least you go in knowing there could be issues.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My wife and I were talking today and agreed that based on your exprience we would try not to take the last couple of sailings before a refurbishment. Of course a good deal on the price might change our minds but at least you go in knowing there could be issues.

 

 

A very long time ago, 2004 I believe, we were on Adventure before it went in for dry dock/refurbishment (I don't know the exact details).  Due to the schedule at the port were the work was to be done, our cruise was a special 10 day cruise since they had a few extra days to fill - normally Adventure did the route from SJU town to Barbados on one week, and then the next it would go down to the ABC islands.  For our 10 day it went down to Barbados, and then over to the ABC islands before going back to SJU.  So there can be benefits to sailing prior to refurbishment.

 

The only inconvenience we witnessed was that the carpeting on one side of the stairway was being replaced on the last day.  Other than that, no issues.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There was one lounge by Cloud 9 and part of the sports deck boarded off; however, other than that you wouldn't have known they had begun the work. The only other noticeable thing was they had moved the chairs from The Catacombs into the Platinum Theater this morning.

 

I really think this was a corporate mistake that went sideways. They tried to accommodate a needed move with a very generous upgrade; unfortunately, it was in a location we didn't want. They did get us back to a midship cabin and offered us OBC for the troubles. The boarding issues were frustrating, but the comp at Chops helped soften the frustration so I stepped off the Liberty satisfied. Had this been my first cruise, though, it might have been enough little issues that I might look elsewhere.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

... We arrived in Galveston on time, so why that wanted to leave earlier is beyond me. Best guess would be to outrun a cold front that we were suppose to pass and/or to get back to Galveston early to load supplies for the dry dock so that they can begin work while in transit...

I think you are right about loading supplies. The "Cruise Cam" shows supplies being loaded by three cranes onto the ship all day today. Liberty has just sailed from Galveston tonight around 8:00 pm local time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think you are right about loading supplies. The "Cruise Cam" shows supplies being loaded by three cranes onto the ship all day today. Liberty has just sailed from Galveston tonight around 8:00 pm local time.

Sounds about right. They have two days before they reach Freeport and that would be wasted time otherwise. A lot of the entertainment staff have been trained in "fire watch" procedures, so they're even involved in the action.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This has been an interesting thread.  I really had no idea that the looming refurb could cause issues like these.  I'm sorry that you had to be a victim, Kris, but my guess is that you weren't the only one.

 

I think I'm leading in Steve's direction and will tend to avoid cruises immediately preceding a scheduled refurb.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This has been an interesting thread.  I really had no idea that the looming refurb could cause issues like these.  I'm sorry that you had to be a victim, Kris, but my guess is that you weren't the only one.

 

I think I'm leading in Steve's direction and will tend to avoid cruises immediately preceding a scheduled refurb.

Other than the cabin move, I really think the rest was just bad luck or a screw up at the corporate level as the change had to be handle by the revenue department for some reason and I think that's how the wires got crossed. Then when we went to Portofino on the last night, they had trouble finding our reservation because it was under our old cabin number before the upgrade. This is when I realized that most of these issues were the result of the move and not an issue with the Liberty herself. In fact, if I didn't know better, I wouldn't have had a clue she was going into drydock except for a few contractors I would see in the WJ at night for dinner and the one area of the sports deck that was boarded off, which wasn't very noticeable.

 

On the bright side, we had exceptionally good MDR service and the Adventure Ocean was superb. We also really enjoyed Saturday Night Live.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Finally heard back from Royal via my TA what created the problem of owing money upon check in at the pier.  

 

I have found the reason for the $222.00 extra charge. The charge was not for the upgrade it was for 3 shore excursions for $74 each.

According to our system, the shore excursions were refunded twice so when it caught the error it made your clients charge back the $222.00 at the pier. We have submitted a work order for the $222 to go back onto your client's credit card and we are very sorry about the inconvenience. I will keep you informed where the money is.

 

Is anyone surprised that it was an IT system glitch?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sounds about right. They have two days before they reach Freeport and that would be wasted time otherwise. A lot of the entertainment staff have been trained in "fire watch" procedures, so they're even involved in the action.

I have to give credit to my wife for an additional theory: why would they pay to ship all of the materials and equipment to the Bahamas when they could load them onto their own ship here in Galveston and transport them to Freeport.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...