Do specialty restaurant staff know you have the UDP if you don't mention it?

Kind of a silly question but this is my first time booking the UDP on my upcoming cruise but I haven't really found an answer as it seems pretty niche.

Since the specialty restaurant reservations can be made as either charged, or uncharged (via UDP), do you have to specifically mention booking as the UDP when making reservations or walk-ins? That is to say, do they default to a charged reservation unless you mention you have the UDP, especially for walk-ins? I'm worried that if I dine as a walk-in they will charge my account if I forget to mention that I have the UDP and with several once-per-day restaurants with a la carte credits it really seems like a possibility. Of course, this can probably be sorted at the guest services desk but it still makes me wonder a bit.

This is a very good question.  There must be some kind of notation on your account/reservation that indicates that you have a dining plan b/c my experience is that they always mention it and verify that you have a package and want to use it for this meal.  This even holds true for BOGO meals for D+ and Pinns.  I've never been accidentally charged for a meal that should have been covered by a dining plan BUT it never hurts to mention it !  Certainly can't hurt.

Anything can happen, but we've done dining packages (not UDP) on 3 ships and have never been charged for a meal included in the dining package; only for alcohol if ordered with dinner since we had no alcohol package. That said, we've always been asked by the waiter when ordering wine if we would like to apply the discount to the wine purchase associated with C & A benefits (that we without exception forget about). In our experience, the wait staff and bartenders have been very good reminding us if we haven't used the benefit. 

For reassurance, always review your Sea Pass account activity daily. A trip to Guest Services will take care of your concern should it occur.