Navigator Voom

ryan.aubin

Sad to say I had to disembark from my 9 night Navigator OTS trip to Bonaire, Curacao, and Aruba this morning.  I don't think I could have asked for better weather.  I certainly have some comments and stray observations that I'd like to post perhaps in the coming days, but the one topic that is just on my mind is Voom.  

Having been on Oasis & Allure in the past two years I suppose I have been spoiled with connectivity.  With that in mind, I was excited to hear RCI was rolling out Voom fleet wide.  As a small business owner, I could keep connected in the rare event I needed it!  

I've taken the time to read many posts on the blog about what can cause service interruptions, low speeds, etc.  I felt prepared.  So in the interest of staying as objective as possible, even though we all love subjective criticism *insert sarcasm here*, I will say this about my experience with Voom on NotS. 

Connectivity was exceptionally slow to, at times, nonfunctional.  Many times websites would simply time out while loading.  I attempted to do a speed test twice daily after I noticed a speed not equal to Oasis.  Connecting to the network was never an issue, my devices connected without incident.  In total I attempted 19 speed tests over the last 8 days of the sailing.  11 of them were so slow the test would simply time out.   Of the remaining 8 that I was able to accomplish, I have attached the results of the best speed test for your own consumption.