Reef safe sunblock

27 minutes ago, jaedam0820 said:

I just watched a YT cruise vlog and it was mentioned there that only reef safe sunblock screens are allowed? Is this true or just normal sunscreen products are ok? This is my first time cruising and I hate to jeopardize it for not following regulations.

I don't think they are checking and confiscating any non reef safe sunscreens, but they may only sell reef safe stuff on the ship and at Coco Cay and Ladadee. For what it's worth though, a lot of big brand sunscreen makers like Neutrogena and Banana Boat have started making reef safe products. Take a look at the ingredients, and I believe anything that doesn't include the ingredients Oxybenzone and Octinoxate are considered safe, even if it's not advertised on the bottle. 

1 hour ago, ChanaC said:

I don't think they are checking and confiscating any non reef safe sunscreens, but they may only sell reef safe stuff on the ship and at Coco Cay and Ladadee. For what it's worth though, a lot of big brand sunscreen makers like Neutrogena and Banana Boat have started making reef safe products. Take a look at the ingredients, and I believe anything that doesn't include the ingredients Oxybenzone and Octinoxate are considered safe, even if it's not advertised on the bottle. 

I didn't know this until now. Thank you so much. Would look into it.

Max reef safe goes up to SPF 50, I've seen 70 once , but without those ingredients, sunblock isn't really working the same way. You're much more likely to get burned, especially if you don't apply it completely like they suggest, every 80 min. 

I'm not sure if links from Amazon allowed here. Or that's advertisement? 

Can give you couple to choose from. 

10 minutes ago, Reigert2008 said:

We've seen it listed on a few excursions, but so far no one has checked.  We purchased some for our last cruise and as we use up the "bad stuff" we will only buy the reef safe versions for ease of travel.