Man Jumps off Cruise Ship

I am a Clinical Psychologist in practice for close to 30 years  and it is even difficult for me to explain. Some of these individuals no doubt have some serious mental issues already, such as bipolar disorder;  alcohol doesn’t improve that problem and creates its own. I’ve always thought it was one of the most final ways however. If they think it’s going to be a dramatic situation that they will survive, they are most certainly wrong. So sad for the families left onboard.

There's a person who maintains a fairly rudimentary website with a list of cruise incidents, including people overboard. Oddly, it seems to happen more on Carnival ships on average than RCI. In fact, according to this website, of the 5 ships to have at least 5 people go overboard since 2000, 4 are Carnival ships (none are Royal ships.) 

http://www.cruisejunkie.com/events.html

http://www.cruisejunkie.com/Overboard.html

2 hours ago, jeffmw said:

There's a person who maintains a fairly rudimentary website with a list of cruise incidents, including people overboard. Oddly, it seems to happen more on Carnival ships on average than RCI. In fact, according to this website, of the 5 ships to have at least 5 people go overboard since 2000, 4 are Carnival ships (none are Royal ships.) 

Geez.  I hope not too many people read this, they might get more grandiose  ideas.  

13 hours ago, jeffmw said:

I suspect the singles / party crowd on Carnival accounts for this, as opposed to the more family-centric crowd on Royal. Just a guess, though.

On 3/17/2022 at 11:13 PM, AlohaLivin said: